Home Page > News > Press Releases > 2020 Press Releases > OUTSTANDING DRAMA PERFORMANCE - WCJC Drama Department students take home play festival awards

OUTSTANDING DRAMA PERFORMANCE - WCJC Drama Department students take home play festival awards

April 23, 2020




OUTSTANDING DRAMA PERFORMANCE - WCJC Drama Department students take home play festival awards 

Wharton County Junior College Drama Department students took home a host of awards from the 2020 TCCSTA Play Fest. Seated, left to right, are Jasmine Munoz of East Bernard and Juan Monroy of Edna. Front row, left to right, are Casey Dworaczyk of Needville, Alissa Ashcraft of Sealy, Kayleigh Frank of Richmond and M Grosser of Wharton. Middle row, left to right, are Haley Keith of Edna, Hannah Rader of Needville, Camille Thrash of Wharton, Sydney Archer of Boling and Reighan Perkins of Spring. Back row, left to right, are Chase Stavinoha of Wharton, Hunter Dworaczyk of Needville, Kodi James of Boling, Idi Ooko of Katy, Troy Guerra of Hockley, Leo Pratt of Katy and Jerry Ramirez of Wharton. Not pictured is Kaitlynn Chaffin of Wharton. 


WHARTON, TEXAS – Prior to Wharton County Junior College closing campuses and offering all courses and services online, WCJC students walked away with a host of awards for outstanding performances at the Texas Community College Speech and Theatre Association’s Play Festival.

Held earlier this semester at Lone Star College in Kingwood, the festival was attended by community colleges from across the state. Each participating college had the opportunity to perform a production in front of judges and receive overall rankings as well as individual awards. WCJC students received a host of top-level individual acting awards in addition to the Sherri Ryan White Acting Ensemble Award.

“We had a great run of performances with this show,” said WCJC Drama Instructor Greg McLarty. “I am proud of the group and I commend them for the great job they did.”

WCJC students won awards for everything from makeup design to scene design to wardrobe management. Winners included the following:

  • Alissa Ashcraft – Respondent’s Choice Acting/Excellent
  • Casey Dworaczyk – Respondent’s Choice Acting/Excellent
  • Kayleigh Frank – Membership Choice Excellent/Makeup Design
  • M. Grosser – Membership Choice Excellent/Wardrobe Manager
  • Kodi James – Membership Choice Excellent/Scenic Design
  • Haley Keith – Membership Choice Excellent/Assistant Stage Manager
  • Juan Monroy – Audience Choice Outstanding Performance
  • Jasmine Munoz – Membership Choice Excellent/Visual Effects
  • Reighan Perkins – Membership Choice Superior/Properties Master
  • Leo Pratt – Respondent’s Choice Acting/Superior
  • Jerry Ramirez – Membership Choice Excellent/Stage Manager
  • Camille Thrash – Professor’s Choice Outstanding Performance, Audience Choice Outstanding Performance, Membership Choice Excellent/Makeup Design



Last Updated