August 01, 2019


Recipients of the Wharton County Junior College Foundation's 2019 Scholarship include, front row, from left, Madelin Perez of East Bernard High School, Arli Hercules of East Bernard High School, Ybette Vazquez of Wharton High School, Michaela Guevara of Wharton High School, Kyli Kostelnik of Louise High School, and Jacquelyn Mijares of El Campo High School. Back row, left to right, are WCJC President Betty McCrohan, WCJC Foundation Board of Directors member Vince Reina Jr., Wesley Gaubatz of Needville High School, Taylor Amos of Needville High School, Stephanie Garcia of Boling High School, Nathan Gurecky of Wharton High School, Da'Veijan Melendez of El Campo High School, WCJC Foundation Board of Directors vice-president Suzanne Armour, WCJC Foundation Board of Directors member Stewart Morris and WCJC Foundation Board of Directors member Landon McClain. Not pictured is scholarship winner Ernest Calhoun of Boling High School.

WHARTON, TEXAS – The Wharton County Junior College Foundation recently awarded scholarships for students from six area school districts.

The students – from Wharton, Boling, East Bernard, Needville, El Campo and Louise school districts – will each receive a $4,000 scholarship. The purpose of the scholarships is to provide financial assistance for students who might otherwise be unable to afford higher education.

“This year marks the third year that the WCJC Foundation has generously provided scholarships to recent high school graduates,” said Zina Carter, WCJC’s director of marketing, communications and advancement. “These scholarships do more than ease the financial burden to pay for college. They are also directly tied to placing the students on a path to complete their degree within two years. Depending on their program of choice, upon completion they will be able to either seek employment or transfer to a four-year institution.”

The 2019 scholarship recipients include:

  • Boling High School – Ernest Calhoun and Stephanie Garcia
  • East Bernard High School – Arli Hercules and Madelin Perez
  • El Campo High School – Da’Veijan Melendez and Jacquelyn Mijares
  • Louise High School – Kyli Kostelnik
  • Needville High School – Wesley Gaubatz and Taylor Amos
  • Wharton High School – Michaela Guevara, Nathan Gurecky and Ybette Vazquez

To qualify for the scholarships, applicants were required to have graduated in 2019 from one of the six schools in the college’s service area. They also had to complete and submit a scholarship application, including an essay. Priority was given to students who demonstrated how a scholarship would enable them to overcome limited resources and financial constraints in order to attend WCJC.

Donations are accepted at any time to support the scholarship initiative. Donations are tax deductible as the foundation is a 501(c)(3) organization and may be mailed to:  The WCJC Foundation, c/o The Office of Marketing, Communications and Advancement, 911 Boling Highway, Wharton, Texas, 77488. For additional information, call 979-532-6322.

Founded in 1954, the Wharton County Junior College Foundation was created with the mission of raising funds to benefit the college’s academic programs, faculty development and student scholarships. The foundation is a non-profit corporation and is operated by a Board of Directors. A scholarship fund is maintained by the foundation to award scholarships on an annual basis.