Beginning with the Fall of 2016, Wharton County Junior College students taking more
than 13 hours of academic transfer courses will get a DISCOUNT on tuition and fees.
The new policy is that students will NOT be charged for tuition and fees for any courses
above the 13 credit hours provided the students are enrolled in academic program courses and not vocational program courses. For example, an in-district student taking 19 credit hours will pay around $1,214.00
the same amount as a student taking only 13 credit hours. The discount is available
to all students, regardless of in-district or out of district status, when enrolling
in academic program courses.
This is a great opportunity for full-time students (and those close to being full-time
students) to enroll in an extra course or two since once enrollment reaches the 13
credit level, the extra credits will NOT result in additional costs.
Tuition and Fees
CURRENT FEE INFORMATION
|General Services Fee
|Out-District Student Fee
| Sugar Land Campus Fee
|TOTAL Tuition & Fees
| In-District Students
| Out-District- Students
|Out- of -District Sugar Land
| Out-of-State Students
Minimum tuition for an in-district or out-of-district resident is $50, minimum out-of-district
student fee is $50, and minimum tuition for an out-of-state or foreign resident is
$200.Fees are assessed as follows, when applicable:
Final-Registration Fee: $25Applies Wednesday before first day of class.Non-Refundable
Change-of-Schedule Fee: $15
Applies to the first two days of classes.Non-Refundable
Returned-Check Fee: $25Charged for each check returned; Non-Refundable
Technology Fee: $60 per semesterNon-Refundable once classes begin
Testing Fee: See TestingSee Testing website for specific fees
Lab Fees: Cost varies per class and program
Non-Refundable once classes begin
Insurance Fees: Cost varies per programNon-Refundable once classes begin
Program Fees: Cost varies per programNon-Refundable once classes begin
REPEATED COURSES AND TUITION CHARGES
Wharton County Junior College will charge a higher tuition rate to Texas resident
students registering for a course for the third or subsequent time. This charge will
apply to any course that the student has already attempted twice and appears on their
transcript. Upon the third or subsequent enrollment, the out of state tuition rate
will be charged for those credits hours. This charge will be assessed upon third enrollments
in attempted (courses in which a student withdrew and received a “W”) and completed
courses (courses in which a student received a letter grade). Student tuition represents
only a portion of the total cost of instruction. The remaining comes from state dollars
that are paid by Texas taxpayers. When students enroll for courses for a third time,
the state of Texas does not offer funding to the college to pay for operation of that
student’s enrollment. The Texas state legislature allows colleges to charge tuition
at a higher rate to offset the loss of funding.
Exemptions to the Repeated Courses
The following types of credit hours are exempt and are not subject to the Repeated
Courses Tuition Charges Policy;
- credit hours for remedial and development courses, if the course work is within the
- credit hours for courses that involve different or more advanced content each time
they are taken, including but not limited to, individual music lessons, theater practicum,
music performance, ensembles, certain physical education and kinesiology courses,
and studio art;
- credit hours for independent study courses; and
- credit hours for continuing education courses that must be repeated to retain professional
- credit hours repeated in the final semester or term before graduation, if the credit
hours are taken for the purpose of receiving a grade that will satisfy a degree requirement.
(This exemption applies for only one semester or term)
Students who believe that they should be receiving an exemption from the higher tuition
rate should, after registering for the course that they were charged a higher tuition
rate proceed to the admissions/registration office and request an appeal form. Students
have seven (7) days from the start of a course to appeal the higher tuition rate.
Students will be asked to (a) complete an appeal form identifying the reason that
they believe they should be exempt from the higher tuition rate, (b) provide a statement
to support the identified reason and (c) provide supporting documents to support their
claim and then submit these to admissions office for processing. Appeals for exemption
will be processed by the admissions staff whenever possible. Appeals for exemption
that are processed by the admissions staff will be immediately returned to the student
who will then take the processed and approved exemption form to the business office
for reversal of higher tuition charges. Appeals for exemption requiring additional
information or research will be processed by the Director of Admissions and Registration
or Registrar as soon as possible. Students will be notified in such instances via
WCJC e-mail regarding the outcome of the appeal for exemption. If the appeal for exemption
is granted the student is responsible for taking the processed and approved appeal
form to the business office.
Students who attempt to claim an exemption from the higher tuition rate but are denied
an initial appeal for exemption have the option to appeal. In order to appeal a student
must within five (5) business days of being denied an exemption present in writing
a statement outlining the reasons they believe they should be granted an exemption.
The student must supply any documentation at the time of their written appeal. The
appeal should be sent to the Vice-President for Student Services. Within five (5)
business days of receiving the appeal the Vice-President will respond in writing to
the student’s appeal statement.
Tuition and fees are subject to change without notice.
Payment may be with cash, check, money order, or credit card (AMERICAN EXPRESS, DISCOVER,
MASTERCARD, or VISA)
Important Plan Information
A $35 NON-REFUNDABLE fee will be assessed for each late installment payment. Installment
plans must be signed prior to the first class day. Late registrants are not eligible
for the installment plan.
Tuition, fees, and dormitory charges are subject to change without notice by action
of the Board of Trustees or the state legislature.
Room and Board Fees
(including 8.25% sales tax
Room in Mullins Hall (for women)
Room in Frankie Hall (for men)
$1.000 per semester
$1,000 per semester
$1,600 per semester
*All dormitory students are required to take the board plan.