Academic Advising

Academic Advisors are here to help you successfully navigate through your college experience.  Our mission is to provide you with relevant and timely information that will enable you to reach your educational goals.  Advising staff can provide you with assistance in a variety of areas, including:

  • Degree selection and planning;
  • Academic development and support, such as test-taking skills development;
  • Career testing and selection;
  • Identifying graduation requirements;
  • Selecting a four-year transfer institution;
  • And so much more!
Office Hours and Contact Information

Academic Advisors are available year-round (except on WCJC holidays), Monday through Friday from 8:00am to 5:00pm.  To schedule an appointment with an advisor, please call 979-532-6516.

Students are strongly encouraged to schedule an appointment to ensure advisors are available and to reduce wait times.  Walk-in appointments are available, as needed. 

Advising Staff by Campus

Wharton Campus

Walk-ins welcome!  Visit us on the second floor of the Pioneer Student Center on the Wharton Campus.

 

Catherine Shoppa, M.Ed.

Academic Advisor

979-532-3918; shoppac@wcjc.edu

 

Samatha Perez, B.A.

Academic Advising Specialist

979-532-6935; perezs@wcjc.edu

 

Kay Gardner, M.A.

Counselor

979-532-6441; gardnerk@wcjc.edu

 

Jimmie Flanagin, Ed.D.

Coordinator of Disability Services

979-532-6384; flanaginji@wcjc.edu

 

Johnnie Svatek, B.B.A.

Recruiter/Academic Advisor

979-532-6431; svatekj@wcjc.edu

 

Susan Denman-Briones, M.S., L.P.C.-S

Director of Academic Advising and Counseling

281-243-8422, susand@wcjc.edu

Richmond Campus

Ruby Grace, B.A.

Recruiter/Academic Advisor

281-239-1526; gracer@wcjc.edu

 

Cynthia Fields, B.S.

Academic Advising Specialist

281-239-1672; fieldsc@wcjc.edu

 

Beverley Marks, M.A., L.P.C.

Counselor

281-239-1527; beverleym@wcjc.edu

 

Susan Denman-Briones, M.S., L.P.C.-S

Director of Academic Advising and Counseling

281-243-8422, susand@wcjc.edu

Sugar Land Campus

Vershonda Williams, M.B.A.

Academic Advisor

281-243-8414; williamsv@wcjc.edu

 

Mervat Mickael, B.D.S.

Academic Advising Specialist

281-243-8413; mickaelm@wcjc.edu

 

Susan Denman-Briones, M.S., L.P.C.-S

Director of Academic Advising and Counseling

281-243-8422, susand@wcjc.edu

Bay City

Advisors are available at the Bay City Campus periodically throughout the academic year.  For information regarding availability, please contact:

Johnnie Svatek, B.B.A.

Recruiter/Academic Advisor

979-532-6431; svatekj@wcjc.edu

Online

To meet with an online advisor, click on the "Need Help?" icon on the bottom right-hand side of this screen.  If online advisors are unavailable, you will be prompted to leave a message and an advisor will get back to you within 48 hours.

 

Sara Fira, B.A.

Academic Advisor

firas@wcjc.edu

 

Lisa Gabriel, M.Ed.

Academic Advisor

gabriell@wcjc.edu

 

Courtney Bolin, B.B.A.

Academic Advisor

bolinc@wcjc.edu

 
 
Last Updated